No Distance In Prayer

Christianity

For the Weary

wpid-wp-1440985565382.jpg

It’s Monday and I just received

news that my mom has CANCER

6 letter word that rips the life and joy out of living.

Many survive it-many don’t.

It silences the rich, middle class, poor, men, women, and children.

It doesn’t care who it strikes.

No distance in Prayer

worried, frustrated not knowing what to do I look toward heaven

I’m trying to make sense of it all.

Wondering, “God what are you doing? Why her?”

Every few moments I cry then weep

A warm sweet feeling rises through my body

dropping warm tears down my cheek bones.

With a lump in my throat, I yell, ” Lord why her?”

My mouth opens melodically

unknown language flows from me

sounds I’ve never heard before.

No distance in Prayer

Mom ma’s oldest daughter

can’t fix this

Not now/Not never

In prayer, I sat lifeless.

Floating from earth to heaven

rising above the fear of the unknown

I feel like a gutted fish

tossed on coals of fire

ready to be eaten

Tis so sweet to trust in Jesus

Just to take him at his word

Lord I pray, “What are you saying?”

Just to rest upon his promises

and to know, “Thus saith the Lord.”

No distance in Prayer

Lord I need to hear you now

come down now please Father

rest upon me now in this hour

No distance in Prayer

Looking up toward heaven

I’m reminded to hope in the Lord

He will renew my strength

Prophet Isaiah says, “They will soar on wings as eagles,

they will run and not grow weary

they will walk and not faint.”

2 thoughts on “No Distance In Prayer

Leave a comment